Academic Challenge Highlights


Article Submitted by Amritesh Bali

Talawanda’s 2019-2020 Academic Challenge season was a rousing success as the varsity team went undefeated.  The main force behind their accomplishments was senior Shr-Hua Moore, who is the best player on Talawanda’s varsity team. Moore was backed by the rest of the varsity team consisting of Abby Bahlau (12th), Jens Bartel (11th), Paul Bolenbaugh (11th), John Jacobson-Whinery (12th), Michelle Miao (10th), Jasper Ralinovsky (12th), and Daryl Zazycki (10th). This stellar performance from Talawanda won them the SWOC championship, but the awards didn’t stop there. Talawanda Academic Challenge coach Scott Schmid also won the SWOC Coach of the Year award. Harrison senior Ashley Green won Player of the Year.

Talawanda hosted the SWOC/ECC League Tournaments and 15 schools competed.  Harrison won the SWOC and Anderson won the ECC. Talawanda coach Scott Schmid said “while hosting the tournament was a lot of work, it was an enjoyable experience.”

Talawanda’s exhibition match with Walnut Hills will be featured on an upcoming podcast episode of “Talawanda Behind the Scenes.”

This was the first season Little Miami lost a match since 2016, and this is also the last season Little Miami will be part of the SWOC.  Winton Woods and Lebanon will also be joining the Eastern Cincinnati Conference in the 2020-21 Academic Challenge season.