Spring Sports Are Underway in the SWOC


Boys Tennis:  Talawanda has won the last two SWOC Championships and three of the last four Southwest Ohio Conference titles.  Coach Pete Thomas’ Brave will be looking to claim their third consecutive title this year.  The championship is decided by virtue of a single round of head to head competition and the SWOC Boys Tennis Tournament, which is scheduled for Wednesday, May 1st at Miami University.  Edgewood (2016) and former conference member Wilmington (2013 & 2014) are the other schools to have captured a SWOC Boys Tennis Championship.

Girls Track:  Coach Paul Stiver’s Talawanda Brave have captured the last two SWOC Championships and four of the six Southwest Ohio Conference Championships since the inception of the conference.  The Brave were victorious in 2013, 2014, 2017, and 2018.  This year’s title will be decided on Tuesday, May 7th at the SWOC Championship Meet, hosted by Edgewood High School.  Ross (2016) and Harrison (2015) are also past winners of the Southwest Ohio Conference Championship.

Boys Track:  The Mt. Healthy Owls, of Coach Ken Meibers, will be looking to claim their sixth straight SWOC Championship this season.  The Owls have won the last five Southwest Ohio Conference titles.  Northwest is the only other past winner of a SWOC title, having claimed the inaugural championship in 2013.  This year, the Southwest Ohio Conference Championship Meet will be held on Tuesday, May 7th at Edgewood High School.

Softball:  Coach Mike Schiering and his Harrison Wildcats will enter this season as the defending SWOC Champions.  Three schools have claimed titles in the history of the Southwest Ohio Conference.  Harrison leads the way with three outright championships (2014, 2015, and 2018); Edgewood has two titles (2017 outright and 2016 shared); and Ross has two championships (2013 outright and 2016 shared).  This year’s title will be decided by a double round of competition between all SWOC members.

Baseball:  Last year, the Ross Rams, of Coach Jason Rettinger (retired), won their second consecutive SWOC Championship.  In the history of the Southwest Ohio Conference, Ross and Harrison have either shared the title or won it outright.  Ross won the outright championship in 2017 and 2018; Harrison won the title for themselves in 2015 and 2016; and Harrison and Ross were co-champions in 2013 and 2014.  All SWOC schools will strive to win a championship through a double round of games.